April 16, 2011

The Trust Board

At present, there are seven Trustees and one Patron

Linda Wardlaw (Honorary Secretary)

Founder Trustee. Widow of the late Ian Wardlaw. Directed ‘Old Herbaceous’ which provided the original Capital for the Trust. Retired member of the Guild of Players and Dumfries Musical and Operatic Society. Experienced actress/director.

John Lawson (Honorary Treasurer)

Partner in the Firm of Primrose & Gordon, Solicitors, Dumfries. Member of Dumfries Musical and Operatic Society. Interests in the Arts and culture generally.

Jenny Wilson

Former Director of Dumfries and Galloway Arts Association. Based at Gracefield Arts Centre. Deeply involved in the Arts in Dumfries and Galloway.

Hazel Lipton

Experienced drama teacher, an examiner with SQA, and director at Dumfries Academy.Committed to enriching young people’s lives through the creative arts.

Demi Powell

Demi Powell is a Doonhamer, who comes to the Wardlaw Trust with twenty years experience in the voluntary sector, participating in and latterly managing small charities. Demi has a keen consumer interest in the performing arts and experience of youth theatre. She looks forward to enabling local young people to meet their potential!

Mark Alexander

Director of Theatre Royal Dumfries and Vice-Chair of the Dumfries & Galloway Arts Festival

Neil Hardy

Professor Jan McDonald, FRSE, FRSAMD (Patron)

Honorary Professorial Research Fellow and Dean of Faculties, University of Glasgow.

Jan McDonald was the James Arnott Professor of Drama at the University of Glasgow from 1979 till her retirement in 2005.

Her principal research interests lie in nineteenth-century theatre history on which she has published a number of articles and monographs. She has also published on the work of contemporary women Scottish dramatists.

During her period of office at the University, she served on the University Court, and was for many years a Governor of the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, now the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, Chair of the Board of Citizens’ Theatre, Glasgow, and a member of the Arts and Humanities Research Board. She also chaired the Drama Committee of the Scottish Arts Council from 1985-8.

She was Vice-President (Arts and Humanities) of the Royal Society of Edinburgh from 2005- 2008, and currently chairs the Society’s major outreach programme which ran in Arbroath in 2008-9, in Dumfries and Galloway in 2010-11, and took place in Lochaber in 2012-13.